Who Wants To Be A Hero?

“Allons-y! Hit-em Mac baby!!”

giphy

Back when I was still an 8th grader, I was at my grandmother’s house with my family for a get together. I was playing League of Legends on my laptop, when I noticed my younger cousins weren’t around. I left and found them in the patio watching something on Netflix. I never thought going out and asking them what they were watching would change my life so dramatically. They were watching a british show… called Doctor Who. Just as anyone would think, I thought the show was stupid, but decided to watch it anyways because I was bored. From that point on, everyday after school, I’d go home and turn on my laptop, to watch Doctor Who while I do my homework. I got to the point where I was taking perspectives and thoughts from the show and changing to be like them. I ended up dropping out of orchestra once I got to high school, because I fell out of touch (and out of time) with the instrument. But, I learned about who I wanted to be. I wanted to be outgoing, compassion, and… absolutely fantastic.

 main

  Ah Punch-Out! one of my favorite games on the Wii. The game stars a boxer, who in comparison to his opponents is quite small, but alas Little Mac is a heavy hitter, with dreams of being the best. If you know me personally, you know I am not a large person. I am quite a small person, and when I put my mind to something I’m going to do it. I also try not to fight anyone, which isn’t like Little Mac, cause he’s a boxer. I try to avoid fights as much as possible. I however, do want to be better at throwing punches when the time comes. Little Mac, also has an awesome theme, with horns, percussion, piano and an electric guitar. This really helps to pump me up and sometimes work (like right now).

“Faster, faster! Come on, you could do it!”

-Jerome ‘Doc’ Louis

I learned a lot from both. From Doctor Who, I learned that I didn’t want to be a hero. I didn’t want to be in the spotlight, and being chased after by millions of people. I wanted to work in the shadows, and to be away from the spotlight. A good person can do that, I however am not. I, just like all my previous selves, have faults and I will have to live with them. I know who I want to be, and how I want people to remember me, through thick and thin. No matter the pains and injuries of life, because time has taught me that wounds heal and scars fade. From playing Punch-Out!, I learned of never giving up. That failure was always okay, and if I wanted to be the best then I’d have to train for it.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

